## 27 NCAC 01D .2508 STANDARDS FOR CERTIFICATION AS A SPECIALIST IN JUVENILE DELINQUENCY LAW

Each applicant for certification as a specialist in juvenile delinquency law shall meet the minimum standards set forth in Rule .1720 of this subchapter. In addition, each applicant shall meet the following standards for certification:

- (a) Licensure and Practice An applicant shall be licensed and in good standing to practice law in North Carolina as of the date of the application. During the period of certification an applicant shall continue to be licensed and in good standing to practice law in North Carolina.
- (b) Substantial Involvement An applicant shall affirm to the board that the applicant has experience through substantial involvement in the practice of juvenile delinquency law.
  - (1) Substantial involvement shall mean during the five years immediately preceding the application, the applicant devoted an average of at least 400 hours a year to the practice of juvenile delinquency law, but not less than 100 hours in any one year. "Practice" shall mean substantive legal work, specifically including representation of juveniles or the state in juvenile delinquency court, done primarily for the purpose of providing legal advice or representation, or a practice equivalent.
  - (2) "Practice equivalent" shall mean:
    - (A) Service for one year or more as a state district court judge responsible for presiding over juvenile delinquency court for 250 hours each year may be substituted for one year of experience to meet the five-year requirement set forth in Rule .2508(b)(1) above;
    - (B) Service on or participation in the activities of local, state, or national civic, professional or government organizations that promote juvenile justice may be used to meet the requirement set forth in Rule .2508(b)(1) but not to exceed 100 hours for any year during the five years.
    - (C) Service as a law professor in a juvenile delinquency legal clinic at an accredited law school may be used to meet the requirement set forth in Rule .2508(b)(1).
    - (D) The practice of state criminal law may be used to meet the requirement set forth in Rule .2508(b)(1) but not to exceed 100 hours for any year during the five years. "Practice of state criminal law" shall mean substantive legal work representing adults or the state in the state's criminal district and superior courts.
  - (3) An applicant shall also demonstrate substantial involvement during the five years prior to application unless otherwise noted by providing information that demonstrates the applicant's significant juvenile delinquency court experience such as:
    - (A) Representation of juveniles or the state during the applicant's entire legal career in juvenile delinquency hearings concluded by disposition;
    - (B) Representation of juveniles or the state in juvenile delinquency felony cases;
    - (C) Court appearances in other substantive juvenile delinquency proceedings in juvenile court;
    - (D) Representation of juveniles or the state through transfer to adult court; and
    - (E) Representation of juveniles or the state in appeals of juvenile delinquency decisions.
- (c) Continuing Legal Education An applicant must have earned no less than 40 hours of accredited continuing legal education (CLE) credits in criminal and juvenile delinquency law during the three years preceding application. Of the 40 hours of CLE, at least 12 hours shall be in juvenile delinquency law, and the balance may be in the following related fields: substantive criminal law, criminal procedure, trial advocacy, and evidence.
- (d) Peer Review -
  - (1) Each applicant for certification as a specialist in juvenile delinquency law must make a satisfactory showing of qualification through peer review.
  - (2) All references must be licensed and in good standing to practice in North Carolina and must be familiar with the competence and qualifications of the applicant in the specialty field. The applicant consents to the confidential inquiry by the board or the specialty committee of the submitted references and other persons concerning the applicant's competence and qualifications.
  - (3) Written peer reference forms will be sent by the board or the specialty committee to the references. Completed peer reference forms must be received from at least five of the references. The board or the specialty committee may contact in person or by telephone any reference listed by an applicant.

- (4) Each applicant must provide for reference and independent inquiry the names and addresses of ten lawyers and/or judges who practice in the field of juvenile delinquency law or criminal law or preside over juvenile delinquency or criminal law proceedings and who are familiar with the applicant's practice.
- (5) A reference may not be related by blood or marriage to the applicant, may not be a partner or associate of the applicant, and may not work in the same government office as the applicant at the time of the application.
- (e) Examination An applicant must pass a written examination designed to demonstrate sufficient knowledge, skills, and proficiency in the field of juvenile delinquency law to justify the representation of special competence to the legal profession and the public.
  - (1) Terms The examination shall be given annually in written form and shall be administered and graded uniformly by the specialty committee.
  - (2) Subject Matter The examination shall cover the applicant's knowledge in the following topics:
    - (A) North Carolina Rules of Evidence;
    - (B) State criminal substantive law;
    - (C) Constitutional law as it relates to criminal procedure and juvenile delinquency law;
    - (D) State criminal procedure;
    - (E) North Carolina Juvenile Code, Subchapters II and III, and related case law; and
    - (F) North Carolina case law as it relates to juvenile delinquency law
  - (3) Examination Components An applicant for certification in the subspecialty of juvenile delinquency law must pass the criminal law examination on general topics in criminal law and the examination on juvenile delinquency law.

## *History Note:* Authority G.S. 84-23;

Approved by the Supreme Court August 25, 2011;

Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court March 5, 2015;

Amendments Approved by the Supreme Court June 15, 2022 and re-entered into the Supreme Court's minutes March 20, 2024.